Job Applications without Registration

Recruiting Guide

Version
R2026.2.0
ft:lastEdition
2026-08-12
Job Applications without Registration

Some job applications are from candidates who aren't registered. This includes candidates who:

  • Apply for jobs without an account.
  • Note: This feature is enabled by default. To remove it, use Enable Application without an Account in Recruiting Setup > Client Properties.
  • Apply from third-party sites such as Indeed.
  • Are imported into Dayforce from import files and the Recruiting API.
  • Are added into Recruiting by a recruiter.

When candidates apply for jobs without an account, they must still provide the following information:

  • Their agreement to the company privacy statement, if configured.
  • Their consent to receive or opt out of SMS messages.
  • All required information, including their email address. They can choose to fill in these details by importing their resume.
  • Agreement to the candidate acknowledgment statement before they submit the application.
  • A completed CAPTCHA image when applicable.

Unregistered candidates can't do activities such as the following, which require registration:

  • Keep profiles for reuse.
  • Save drafts of their applications. They can’t see these applications even if they register later using the same email address.
  • Track the status of their applications.
  • Save jobs and job searches.
  • Access recommended jobs.

Dayforce creates a single candidate record for these candidates. When candidates apply for a job through LinkedIn or without an account, the system creates this record for the first job they apply for, then attaches their job applications to this record for every subsequent job they apply for. Recruiters can see all job applications attached to a candidate record in the Jobs Applied For tab of the candidate's profile.

Note: If candidate applications sometimes use an email address and other times only a phone number, two candidate records are created: one for the email address, another for the phone number. The email address takes precedence when both a phone number and email address are used.

If the candidate applies for the same job multiple times, the duplicate applications are automatically declined and flagged with the "Duplicate Application" decline reason. See Duplicate Applications Are Automatically Declined.

The information in candidate records (including contact information, profile information, and jobs applied for) is made available to the candidates should they register for an account later.

When Unregistered Candidates Delete Applications

Candidates receive a reference number when they submit their job application without an account. This number is shown in a confirmation message and provided in an email. They need this number if they want to delete the application later. They can delete their applications from links provided in the email and in the footer of the career website.

Each job application has a unique reference number, so these candidates must request deletion for each of their job applications.

Their candidate record is also deleted if the deleted job application is the only one attached to it. It’s kept if there are other applications attached. If the candidate clicks the link to delete their application after they’ve registered for an account, they are prompted to sign in to their account to delete their data.