Set Conversation Visibility

Employee Guide

Version
R2024.1.0
Set Conversation Visibility

When you create a conversation, you can control who sees it using the Display to drop-down list, which is available wherever you create conversations in Performance. This includes conversations created in the Conversations tab, as well as any conversations linked to goals, competencies, or reviews. After you post a conversation, you cannot change its visibility, and the same visibility applies to all replies added to that conversation.

Note: Employees can see only conversations that they have access to.

The Display to drop-down list provides the following visibility options:

  • Tagged People + Their Direct Managers: The conversation is visible to the author and their direct manager, and to tagged employees and their direct managers. This is the default setting.
  • Tagged People + All Their Managers: The conversation is visible to the author and all of their direct and indirect managers, and to tagged employees and all of their direct and indirect managers.
  • Note: This option is only displayed if your user role is assigned access to the Performance > Conversations > Allow "All Their Managers" Visibility Option sub-feature in the Features tab of System Admin > Roles. .
  • Tagged People Only: The conversation is visible only to the author and tagged employees. All child conversations are also private.
  • Everyone: The conversation is visible to all users. All child conversations are also public.
  • Note: This option is only displayed if your user role is assigned access to the Performance > Conversations > Allow Public Conversations sub-feature in the Features tab of System Admin > Roles.
  • Only Me: The conversation is visible only to the author. All child conversations are also private.