Configure Delegation Access

Employee Guide

Version
R2026.2.0
ft:lastEdition
2026-08-10
Configure Delegation Access

- New Profile user interface -

If you're not going to access your Dayforce account for a while, for example, when you go on vacation, you can delegate access to another person, like a manager or HR administrator.

Important: For security reasons, access should be delegated from managers to other managers rather than from managers to employees.

Users who are delegated access to your account can access features and do some tasks on your behalf. For example, a delegate can authorize timesheet entries so that your employees get paid for the time that they worked before your absence.

Delegates see a dialog box like the one below when they log in. They can choose to log in to their own account or on behalf of someone else:

Delegates must select which account they're logging in as.

To delegate another user with access to your account:

  1. Go to Profile and open Settings > Preferences.
  2. In the Delegation Access section, click Add Delegate.
  3. In the Add Delegate dialog box, select options in the Give access to and Delegation reason drop-down lists.
  4. Enter the effective dates in the Effective From and Effective To fields.
  5. Note: Your Dayforce administrator can configure a maximum number of days for a delegation period. You can’t enter dates for a period that is longer than the maximum.
  6. (Optional) In the Restrict Private Information section, select the checkboxes to restrict the delegate’s access to private information in your account. If you can’t see these checkboxes, it means that you don’t have access to configure them. In that case, they're all selected by default in the background, and your delegate can’t see any of the restricted private information about your reports.
    • Pay Information: Hides pay information for employees that report to you. Clear the checkbox and the delegate has full access to employee pay information as long as they have the appropriate access (access is controlled by the Employee Pay Information access authorization).
    • Succession Feature Access: Restricts the delegate’s access to Succession features, including development plans. Clear the checkbox and the delegate has the same access to Succession that you have.
    • Performance Feature Access: Restricts the delegate’s access to performance information for your employees. This restriction includes information in the Performance features and in the Talent screen of People. Clear the checkbox and the delegate has the same access to your employees' performance information that you have.
    • Compensation Feature Access: Restricts the delegate’s access to Compensation features. Clear the checkbox and the delegate has the same access to Compensation that you have.
    • PII Documents:  Hides personally identifiable information (PII). Clear the checkbox and the delegate has full access to PII in your account.
  7. (Optional) In the Restrict Message Center Access section, select the checkboxes to restrict the delegate’s access to areas of Message Center. If you can’t see these checkboxes, it means that you don’t have access to configure them. In that case, they're all selected by default in the background, and your delegate can’t see your Message Center.
    • Compose: Hides the Compose button. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can compose and send messages on your behalf.
    • Approvals: Hides the Approvals folder. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can open the Approvals folder and approve or deny requests on your behalf.
    • Messages: Hides the Messages folder. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can open the Messages folder and see all of your messages.
    • Reports: Hides the Reports folder. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can open the Reports folder and see all of the messages and reports in it.
    • Notifications: Hides the Notifications folder. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can open the Notifications folder and see all of the messages in it.
    • Actions: Hides the Actions folder. Clear the checkbox and the delegate can open the Actions folder and see all of your pending workflow forms and take action on them.
  8. Click Save.